The Community Mental Health Centers in Mississippi were formed as a result of the Federal Community Mental Health Centers Act of 1963, mandating community access to mental health care. The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Regional Commission Act of 1972 to organize its own community mental health centers. The state is divided into 14 mental health regions according to population. Community Counseling Services (CCS), serving one of those regions, is officially known as Region VII Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities Commission. The Board of Supervisors in each county we serve appoints a Mental Health Commissioner to act as a representative of that county on the Community Counseling Services' governing board for four years. Community Counseling Services is a 501(c)3 public non-profit agency licensed and partially funded by the Mississippi State Department of Mental Health. We receive no direct appropriation from the state budget.

CCS is a state-certified mental health service provider operating as a  community mental health center. We offer a full range of services to both adults and children. Our services are as follow:

Adult Mental Health Services
Substance Use Disorders Services
  • Outpatient Services
  • Crisis Response Services
  • Prevention Services
  • Peer Support Services
  • Support for Recovery/ Resiliency Oriented Services
  • Primary Residential Services (adults)
  • DUI Assessment Services
  • Recovery Support Services
Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities Waiver Services*
  • Support Coordination
  • Home and Community Supports
  • In-Home Nursing Respite
  • In-Home Respite
  • Day Services – Adult
  • Prevocational Services
  • Supported Employment
  • Supported Living
  • Shared Supported Living
  • Supervised Living
  • Host Homes
  • Community Respite
  • Crisis Intervention
  • Crisis Support
  • Behavior Support
  • Job Discovery
  • Transition Assistance

Children and Youth Mental Health Services

  • Day Treatment Services*

  • Outpatient Therapy

  • Community Support Services* 

  • Psychiatric/Physician Services

  • Crisis Response Services 

  • Pre-Evaluation Screening for Civil Commitment (for youth age 14 and over) 

  • Making a Plan (MAP) Teams 

  • Targeted Case Management Services* 

  • Peer Support Services*

  • Support for Recovery/Resiliency Oriented Services

  • System of Care Services

Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities Services Community Support Program Services*

  • Day Habilitation

  • Prevocational Services

  • Supported Employment

Services listed with an * (asterisk)  are only offered to individuals with Medicaid.
Medicare, VA, Tricare, most private insurances DO NOT cover these services. People without insurance coming from a psychiatric facility may receive short-term, grant-funded CSS if the funding is available. These services are available in all of our seven counties: Choctaw, Clay, Noxubee, Lowndes, Oktibbeha, Webster, and Winston. 
Region 7 Mental Health/Mental Retardation Commission (Community Counseling Services) (CCS) has adopted the following policies regarding charges for mental health services.
We will charge persons receiving services at the usual and customary rate prevailing in this area. Services will be provided at no charge, or at a reduced charge, to persons unable to pay for services. We are committed to:
  • Serving all individuals
  • Offering a sliding fee scale for individuals who qualify*
  • Not denying services based on a person’s:
    • Race
    • Disability
    • Color
    • Religion
    • Sex
    • Sexual Orientation
    • National origin
    • Inability to pay
  • Accepting insurance, including:
    • Medicaid
    • Medicare
    • Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
*For information about CCS’ Sliding Fee Scale, please contact any of our outpatient offices.