The Community Mental Health Centers in Mississippi were formed as a result of the Federal Community Mental Health Centers Act of 1963, mandating community access to mental health care. The Mississippi State Legislature passed the Regional Commission Act of 1972 to organize its own community mental health centers. The state is divided into 14 mental health regions according to population. Community Counseling Services (CCS), serving one of those regions, is officially known as Region VII Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities Commission. The Board of Supervisors in each county we serve appoints a Mental Health Commissioner to act as a representative of that county on the Community Counseling Services' governing board for four years. Community Counseling Services is a 501(c)3 public non-profit agency licensed and partially funded by the Mississippi State Department of Mental Health. We receive no direct appropriation from the state budget.

2020 Region VII MH/ID Commission - Community Counseling Services (CCS)

CCS is NOT a state agency and is not allocated any state budget money.

CCS is a 501(c)3 public non profit. 

Some services are provided through competitive grants awarded from the Department of Mental Health (DMH) as well as other federal agencies.

© 2023 by Community Counseling Services. Proudly created with Wix.com